A Peek Into the Chakra System

A Peek Into the Chakra System

Posted on February 13, 2013 by Cathy Podd, she gave us permission to reprint, thanks!

The Chakra system, originating in Hindu and Buddhist traditions, have thousands of texts and information written. However, since this is just a little peek, I’ll spare you the pages of information and just give a bit about the system.
The Chakra System are energy centers located along the body. Each chakra corresponds to different physical, emotional, and metaphysical properties. When our chakras are “balanced” we are “well”.Image
Here is a rundown (or run-UP) of the basic Chakra system most people are familiar with:

Crown, top of the head and outwards to the aura – Wisdom (or Connection to spirit)

Third Eye, between and behind your eyes- Intuition (6th Sense)

Throat – Communication (all forms)

Heart – Harmony (Love)

Solar Plexus, diaphragm area below heart- Intention (or Will)

Sacral, lower abdomen- Desire (or Nourish)

Root, base of spine – Grounding (or survival)

The word “chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit. Most imagine each chakra to be a spinning wheel. If one is “stuck”, closed, or stopped it could mean there is an imbalance in that particular chakra.

I have recently developed a new massage incorporating the Chakra system and reiki. It begins with a guided meditation through the system with visualization and corresponding aromas and crystals. Breath-work and reiki are also a major part in the meditation to help relax the client and allow them to connect within. It then flows into a customized massage.

If you are interested in learning more, stay tuned. I will be posting more on each chakra soon.